Tom Hyde

2004 Honouree – Builder, Hockey

Tom Hyde For many years, Tom Hyde was an ardent supporter of minor hockey in Brantford and in the 1940s and 1950s he was the President of the Brantford Minor Hockey Association (BMHA). Mr. Hyde was recognized by the Ontario Minor Hockey Association (OMHA) in 1957 with the OMHA Honour Award for his outstanding volunteer commitment to minor hockey for a considerable time. The OMHA established the Thomas Hyde Memorial Trophy in 1971 for the Ontario Minor PeeWee AAA Championships. The first winner was Oshawa for the 1971/72 season. It remains in circulation today.