1971 Warriors

1995 Six Nations ChiefsThe Brantford Warriors two time Canadian Mann Cup Champions created the stepping stone to creating the National Lacrosse League in the US & Canada. The Warriors toured the US and caused such a stir in interest for box lacrosse that US cities, Maryland, Rochester, Boston, Philadelphia, Montreal, Toronto & Quebec all joined the NLL. 

Warrior Coach & Canadian entrepreneur Morley Kells led the charge and the NLL became a reality. Morley’s team, players from the Brantford Warriors, signed with the new Rochester Griffins and went on to win the first NLL championship. The Rochester team moved to Long Island NY and became the Long Island Tomahawks and later, under the Brantford coach Morley, won a second NLL championship. 

Brantford Sports announcer Arnold Anderson quoted, "the Brantford Warriors a class team, was the greatest lacrosse team in the history of lacrosse, with un-blinding speed, accuracy, leadership and a dynamic and intelligent lacrosse coach Morley Kells. The US has never seen box lacrosse in action and were shocked to see their field game play in an arena creating exciting fast and rough lacrosse."  

Today's pro lacrosse leagues, including the Toronto Rock, are the results of the Brantford Warriors success in promoting Canada's national game. Brantford had the century's most outstanding stars with Legendary Gaylord Powless, Captain Ron McNeil, Paul Suggate and Buff McCready. A great history & tradition created by the Brantford Warriors.

Team Roster

Morly Kells (Coach), John Moore (Trainer), Keith Martin (Mgr.), Dr. Barry Cooper

Ron Finucan, Ric Dudley, Al Gordaneer, Bob McCready, Paul Suggate, Bob VanSickle, Bob Smith, Ron McNeil, Brian Wilson, Bill Coghill, Ray Simpson, Bob MacGregor, Mark Clark, Jerry McKenna, Gary Moore, Ron Thompson, Zenny Lipinski, Bert Lord